New monasticism and traditional Benedictine monasticism have much in common, yet each is unique.  The Companions will have an opportunity to experience both, as an emerging community nurtured within a traditional community.  Below are the “twelve marks” of a new monastic community, as well as the “twelve marks” of Benedictine monasticism.

The Twelve Marks of a New Monasticism

(as articulated by a working group of representatives from new monastic communities, convened by Rutba House in 2004)
  • Relocation to the abandoned places of Empire.
  • Sharing economic resources with fellow community members and the needy among us.
  • Hospitality to the stranger
  • Lament for racial divisions within the church and our communities combined with the active pursuit of a just reconciliation.
  • Humble submission to Christ’s body, the church.
  • Intentional formation in the way of Christ and the rule of the community along the lines of the old novitiate.
  • Nurturing common life among members of intentional community.
  • Support for celibate singles alongside monogamous married couples and their children.
  • Geographical proximity to community members who share a common rule of life.
  • Care for the plot of God’s earth given to us along with support of our local economies.
  • Peacemaking in the midst of violence and conflict resolution within communities along the lines of Matthew 18.
  • Commitment to a disciplined contemplative life.


Twelve Marks of Benedictine Monasticism

(as articulated by the 2012 Monastic and Missional class at Wycliffe College, University of Toronto)

The first three are the traditional Benedictine vows, and the vow of conversion of life includes the values of poverty and chastity / faithfulness

  • Stability
  • Obedience
  • Conversion
  • Listening
  • Humility
  • Hospitality
  • Community
  • Discipline/Rhythm/Rule of life
  • Poverty and generosity
  • Opus dei (communal prayer)
  • Balance & moderation
  • Stewardship of resources